My Spirit Has Been Shit On

So my Idea of the difference between  concept and final product is this;  when talking about the comparison between the two and how they are different, I believe it is necessary to see them for how similar they are first.  As a new media major, I tent to skip the gory details about the process that goes into making something for a client and focus on the finished product, which is what the client might want.  I have to be the one who takes their inspiration and puts my own twist to it as they see fit.  the concept, in this case, might be the “rough draft”, for lack of a better term.  It is basically what is submitted for the clients approval or to be tested in the market.  When talking about a client to professional relationship, I would call the notion of concept something that came from the professional and final product would be with the addition of the client’s ideas.  Thanks

I had an interesting time in class this monday.  I think that with this class, along with other classes I have taken in the past I am starting to show my age.  either that, or I just don’t get it.  I really want to be excited about thinking outside the box but I think, no, fear that I may have passed my innovative peak.  We had a discussion about inspiration and the question arose.  What is your inspiration for the project you are on?  I have to admit that it has been a long time since I have really been inspired.  Come to think, I really haven’t been impressed with anyones ideas or thoughts in the class to this point.  Nothing stands out anyway.

There was a time when I would have stuck out like a sore thumb in a class such as this.  I remember when I was bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.  My outgoing personality would have shined through the mold of the herd.  I could not only produce a creative idea and make it tangible or tellable, but I also had the conviction to convince others that what I was doing was great.

I have been used to people looking to me for new and interesting ideas and now I can’t help but feel somewhat annoyed by people who are doing the same thing.  Jaded may be more of a fitting term.  I don’t, by any means, want to offend anyone in the class for speaking their mind, hell I used to do that myself.  When the teacher commends someone for the great job they did and how they understand this class I can’t help but think, “for what?  The idea the presented was dumb”.  or unoriginal.  Not that I am doing much of a better job, of coarse.

I just have this pre-conceived notion that I have already went through, a few years ago, what most of my class mates are going through now.  I am almost 32 years old.  I realized at a very young pre-pubescent stage, that I was a very creative person.  I took interest in art and soon into my teen years began to play musical instruments.  since then I have been in countless bands (that is not an exaggeration), I have been in upwards of twenty five or more bands.  I have even spent countless hours writing stories and poetry and have even made a few short films.  I have entered into thousands of festivals, contest, pageants, and shows, and I have nothing to show from it.  I know that I am creative and original and I have good reason to bitch.  I have good reason to be jaded.  Furthermore, I have good reason to think that another persons idea, concept, creation, etc. is not worth the paper it was written on.

My “bright-eyed, bushy-tailed spirit has been shit on for eight to ten years longer than most of my classmates so I just don’t feel like I have any more inspiration left and I certainly don’t feel that I can gain any insight from them since they are still bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.  Once again I am not trying to offend anyone and I also hope that I am wrong but, my only advise to any young B.E.B.T. is that the world will chew you up and shit you out soon enough.  make sure you make your stain in the grand picture before you loose your inspiration.  because you will some day loose it.

The only difficult part is this;  When you are young, you are inspired but nobody will take you seriously.  When you are older, you will be taken seriously but your inspiration will have long passed because nobody took you seriously when you had it.  The trick is to not exhaust all that inspiration so soon.   Keep just a bit of that “spark” for when you get older.

needless to say I need this class.  Beth mentioned something that sort of opened my eyes a little bit.  She said that she would rather us never step foot in the classroom if we thought we could get something more out of it by not attending.  this made me think that she was speaking to me even though she was actually talking to someone else who thought the class was boring.  I don’t think this class is boring however and as tempting as the offer to never step foot in class is, I will probably need to attend the classes to get the fullest out of it.

So back to what we were talking about before I went on this rant.   We were talking in class about the process of a project from the beginning to the end product and came up with the following equation;

Inspiration, > Idea, > Concept, > Trial, > Refine, > Product. (IICTRP) or (eek-terp)

1. Inspiration:  this is not necessary for a final product per say but it is definitely key in creating a final product that works.  by that I mean if you cannot muster any base for inspiration, your client will most likely miss the point or the purpose of that final product because there probably is no purpose behind it in the first place.

2. Idea:  the Idea is the thought of the actual final product.  What will it be?  What purpose will it have?  What will it do to ensure that it’s function has meet the criteria for it’s purpose.  The Brainstorming fits into this category.  Let’s say you were making a web site for a children’s book.  What would the layout be?  What colors should I use?  these questions and more should be asked at this time.

3. Concept:  After experimenting with various different methods (which is part of the Concept Phase),  you will then “construct” a rough draft or prototype.  You may even make a few different models that differ slightly.  This is your concept.  Finished by no means, it could give you insight as to what the product might look or behave like.

4. Trial:  after your concept has been modified well enough to the point of “performing” if you will, you will now try your concept on test subject consumers.  they will give you feedback for your questions.  What did you like?  What did you dislike?  did you understand it?  Did this work.

5. Refine:  After your feedback is tabulated you will probably (and most likely) need to go back to the drawing room floor, tweak knobs and flip switches.  erase, draw, and repeat.  when you are finished with the first initial round of Refining, you can go back to the trial stage.  You may find yourself running back and fourth between stage 4 and 5 as many times as you see fit.  This is perfectly normal and, in fact, necessary.

6.Product:  This is the end of the line.  After you have tried and refined and repeated as necessary you are ready to launch that children’s book web site or show that new commercial on television.  what ever it may be.  Product is not so much one of the stages of the process, but it is the prize that you kept your eyes on.  I is an indicator of the end of the process.  It is the goal that has been obtained.

the process would actually be more fitted to be described as a goal.  that is my two cents  or three nonsense.  whichever you choose is best.

About Benjamin Masbaum

I am a student of Media Arts and Science in the Informatics program at IUPUI. I am fascinated with music, motion art, and the affiliation o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

